Organizing Committee

Dr. Demetris-Francis Lekkas

University of the Aegean - Greece

Associate Professor in the School of Environment of the University of the Aegean and Director of the Waste Management Laboratory


Prof. Vincenzo Naddeo

University of Salerno - Italy

Director of the Sanitary Environmental Engineering Division (SEED) at the University of Salerno, where he drives research activities in the Environmental Engineering fields.


Prof. Damia Barcelo

Inst. of Env. Assessment & Water Research

Full Professor IDAEA-CSIC, Spain. Since 2008 Director, Catalan Institute for Water Research (ICRA).


Dr Antonis Zorpas

Open University of Cyprus – Cyprus

Assoc. Professor in the Faculty of Pure and Applied Science (Environmental Conservation & Management department). He is the Head of Lab of Chemical Engineering & Engineering Sustainability


Dr. Iraklis Panagiotakis

AECOM - Greece

Has more than 18 years of experience working in several different environmental projects in Greece and Western Balkans and he is the Environmental Manager of AECOM in Greece.


Prof. Vincenzo Belgiorno

University of Salerno - Italy

Professor of environmental engineering, V.Belgiorno carries out scientific research in the areas of wastewater and solid waste treatment.


Pr. M. Papadopoulou

National & Technical University of Athens – Greece

Director of Physical Geography and Environmental Impacts Lab & since 2017. Deputy Dean at the School of Rural & Surveying Engineering, National Technical University of Athens. President of the Natural Environment and Climate Change Agency.


Dr. Alessandra Cesaro

University of Naples Federico II – Italy

Assistant Professor (tenure track) at the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering of the University of Napoli Federico II.


Dr. Ilias Pechlivanidis

SMHI – Sweden

Senior Researcher in hydrology and water resources at SMHI and the Project Manager of the Dissemination Centre for the Copernicus European Flood Awareness System.


Prof. Dionysios Dionysiou

University of Cincinnati - USA

Currently a Professor of Environmental Engineering and Science at the University of Cincinnati.


Dr. Guillermo San Miguel

Technical University of Madrid - Spain

Lecturer and Senior Research Fellow (PCD-I3) in the School of Industrial Engineering (ETSII) at Universidad Politécnica de Madrid.


Dr. Eleftheria Klontza

University of the Aegean - Greece

Research Fellow in Waste Management Laboratory in the University of the Aegean.


Prof. Nikos Thomaidis

National and Kapodostrian University of Athens - Greece

Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, specialized in Environmental and Food Chemistry


Dr. Angeliki Kosmopoulou

A.C. Laskarides Charitable Foundation - Greece

Executive Director of the A.C. Laskaridis Charitable Foundation. Holds a PhD in Classical Archaeology from Bryn Mawr College (USA) and an MBA from Leicester University (UK).


Prof. Dimitra Vagiona

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki - Greece

Professor of Sustainable Development and Project and Environmental Management at the Department of Spatial Planning and Development, School of Engineering, AUTh


Prof. Gerasimos Lyberatos

National and Technical University of Athens - Greece

Professor in the School of Chemical Engineering, National Technical University of Athens and a collaborating faculty member of the Institute of Chemical Engineering and High Temperature Chemical Processes.


Prof. Nick Voulvoulis

Imperial College London - UK

Professor of Environmental Technology at Imperial College’s Centre for Environmental Policy.